Phase 3 usually feels so decadent to me… not like deprivation at all.  Yet, even so I miss the freedom of eating without a list of foods.  It’s a challenge to have some foods allowed only on certain days but not on other days.  Also some things are totally out…and not just the corn, potatoes, and biggies that she highlights in her description.  There are also lots of little things that I notice when I want them like Tomatillo salsa (tomatillos are not on the list).  I can have beans and guacamole in Phase 3 but not my favorite salsa.

Of all 3 phases I still find Phase 1 to be the most comfortable choice-wise.  On Phase 3 I miss the selection of other fruits.  Also, even after all of these weeks, Phase 3 still feels like too much food… I suppose I need to get up earlier and space it out more, but sleeping a little late is a weekend treat too.  Following The Fast Metabolism Diet is not just a change of patterns; it is a very precise routine.

Today is the 28th day.  I will wait to weigh until tomorrow morning since I have been weighing each Monday.  Without even weighing though, I know I still have further to go.  The cover of the book suggests it’s possible to lose 20 pounds in 28 days; I knew that was not likely, but it would have been amazing to lose a year’s gains in one month.  Many of the blogs I checked out before giving this plan a try, talked about losses of about 14 pounds in a month; that would have been nice too.  My guess is maybe a 5 or 6 pound loss for me; I’ll know for sure tomorrow.  Even with all of the struggles with the schedule, the water, the food restrictions, etc. I have felt happier with my diet than I have for a while. The happiness comes from feeling good about the healthy foods I’m eating and the lack of junk I’m not eating.  My plan is to continue  The Fast Metabolism Diet at this week and probably longer, with one exception… next weekend (Saturday and Sunday) I will divert from the plan to celebrate my anniversary.

 

8:00 Hot Tea

9:30 (whoops!  late!) sprouted bread with almond butter and smoothie (blueberries, spinach, ice, water, almond milk, cocoa powder)

12:30 Last of the homemade cashew cheese spread and dab of homemade Hummus (no Tahini) + olive relish (like yesterday) with snap peas

2:30 Taco salad: shredded romaine, diced tomato, pickled jalapeno, guacamole, and refried beans (no oil)… I was planning to make a little peach salsa but forgot all about it! (I guess the tomato is today’s fruit)

4:45 celery with a mixture of homemade olive relish and homemade hummus (like yesterday)

7:30 Navy beans and a salad with spinach, broccoli sprouts, beets, raw sunflower seeds, and a mustard shallot vinaigrette

8:30 Hot tea

 

 

Leave a Reply

