Well, I made it!  Today starts week 4 and I survived the 4 days at the conference pretty much sticking to the Fast Metabolism Diet.  Sometimes I missed a snack, the times listed may not be exact, and sometimes I missed a food on the plan, but overall I did pretty well.  The hardest part was timing.  The next hardest part was a sore shoulder from carrying around a bag of food at all times. And the last hard part was getting through airport security with a bag full of vegetables and a Ziploc of blueberries stuffed into my electric kettle (my suitcase got some intense scrutiny but eventually made it through).

The best thing I did was to plan ahead.  By creating a rough schedule of the times and foods I should eat I at least had a goal to shoot for.  I had looked at my work commitment schedule and restaurants within walking distance and knew I would need to pack lots of food.  I ate most of it!  I took ziplocs of cut up celery, carrots, jicama tossed in lemon, green beans, blueberries, and shrink wrapped cucumbers.  I had mini bags of whole almonds, sliced almonds, and pumpkin seeds as well as these hummus tubes, and olive packs.   I pre-measured bags of oats + walnuts + cinnamon.  My trusty electric kettle was extremely handy for making tons of herb tea.  I took a tea thermos, small bowl, spoon, and plastic knife.

Here’s the details (times listed are VERY estimated):

Thursday Phase 2 Day:

  • 4:14 am snack at home: tofu pudding
  • 7:30 am on one of my flights:   Leftover Edamame Radish Salad  (THIS worked very well!)
  • 10:00-10:30 Extra Snack due to the long day: Vegetable sticks (raw green beans, jicama, celery, and red bell pepper)
  • 12:30-1:30 (Times will reflect Local Time from here down) We went to a restaurant with very few options for vegans and all of the salads were loaded with cheese, etc. I asked if I could just have a bowl of raw spinach and they said “sure” so I added the Pre-cooked Tempeh I had brought as well as some Bragg’s Amino Acids and the fresh lemons that were on the table for our water
  • 3:30 Edamame and veggies ( on route between 2 places/ on a bus)
  • 6:30 Restaurant: (Panera) Ordered an undressed Mixed green salad with no tomatoes and pickled onion instead of the raw onion and  added my own pre-cooked Tempeh, red bell peppers, and raw green beans (baggie in my purse) (with my own packed dressing of vinegar & Bragg’s)* Afterwards I realized that I should have skipped the pickled onions since they may have had sugar

Friday  Phase 3 Day:

  • 6:30 hotel room: oatmeal, blueberries, walnuts, and jicama with lemon
  • 9:30 Back at hotel room: Vegetable sticks (same as yesterday plus carrots and raw almonds
  • (with my own packed dressing of vinegar & Bragg’s), and a grapefruit eaten like this
  • 1:30 Vegetables and raw pumpkin seeds
  • 2:15 Went to Salad bar and purchased some mixed greens with roasted beets (probably olive oil) added my own grapefruit segments and  my own packed dressing of vinegar & Bragg’s **Also grabbed a few little packets of lemon juice for future salads
  • 5:00(meetings will restart at 7:00 pm)  Dinner in hotel room: Tube Hummus and raw vegetables (red pepper, jicama, green beans, celery, carrots, cucumber), olives, and a bowl of quinoa ( like this)  with sliced almonds on top… I KNOW the quinoa is designed for babies… but it works really well for traveling and is vegan; I’ve used it before.  Lots of water = soup and less water = porridge

Saturday Phase 3 Day:

  • 6:00 hotel room: oatmeal, blueberries and raspberries, walnuts, and jicama with lemon
  • 11:30 in Hotel room LOTS of raw vegetables, raw almonds, tube hummus, raspberries and blueberries
  • 4:30 Restaurant: Mixed green salad (added tube of hummus as dressing) and white bean chile

Sunday Phase 3 Day:

  • 7:30 in Hotel room: oatmeal, blueberries, walnuts, and celery
  • 11:30 at airport: Vegetable sticks and pumpkin seeds
  • 3:30-4:30 (another time change…) at airport: Aseptic Hummus and , vegetable sticks, blueberries, and aseptic sweet potato
  • 6:15 on plane: Vegetable sticks, raw almonds
  • 8:00 Home : Husband had cooked dinner of sweet potatoes and acorn squash with Asian seasonings, seaweed/cucumber salad, and miso soup  (even though miso is NOT part of phase 3 I had a bowl because he prepared this meal with a loving heart and I appreciated it)… I also added 2 tbs of almond butter as a dessert that counted as my protein/fat and was a much appreciated treat after a challenging few days

 

Leave a Reply

