I’m going to have to take things up a notch, not by design…by necessity.  For the next 4 days I’ll be traveling to a conference.  My days will be long and my meals will be less certain.  I’m taking as much food with me as possible, but know that I’ll also need to venture into the world of restaurants which can already be challenging as a vegan let alone a vegan following The Fast Metabolism Diet.

In order to create a  travel plan I started with the following strategies:

  • Googled “Fast Metabolism Diet and Travel” Look here and look here
  • Brainstormed foods that I could travel with that minimized “liquids” and wouldn’t require much cooking,
  • Made a detailed menu with meals and times (including time changes for a different time zone)
  • Looked up restaurants in the area that might help supplement my plan (also consulted dining out for tips)

Here’s the plan I came up with:

First and foremost remember this: Traveling is hard on the body and the mind. My goal with the survival plan is to make sure I return home feeling healthy and rested because I have nurtured my myself and my metabolism along the way.

Thursday Phase 2 Day:

  • 4:14 am snack at home: tofu pudding
  • 7:30 am on one of my flights:   Leftover Edamame Radish Salad (in ziploc with minimal liquid)
  • 10:00-10:30 Extra Snack due to the long day: Vegetable sticks (raw green beans, jicama, celery, and red bell pepper)
  • 12:30-1:30 (Times will reflect Local Time from here down) Pre-cooked Tempeh and Vegetable Sticks and possibly a Green salad if available at a restaurant (with my own packed dressing of vinegar & Bragg’s)
  • 3:30 Edamame and veggies (possibly on route between 2 places)
  • 6:30 Restaurant: Either salad or steamed vegetables like asparagus, broccoli, or green beans and pre-cooked Tempeh(baggie in my purse) (with my own packed dressing of vinegar & Bragg’s)

Friday  Phase 3 Day:

  • 7:15 (need to be at work by 7:30 but room-mates may be sleeping in so will flip-flop breakfast and snack) Walking to the event eat snack of Vegetable sticks (same as yesterday plus carrots and raw almonds
  • 9:30 Back at hotel room: oatmeal, blueberries, walnuts, and jicama with lemon
  • 12:30 Aseptic Hummus and olives (nuts if needed), vegetable sticks, and pre-made green salad from convention center vendor (with my own packed dressing of vinegar & Bragg’s), and a grapefruit eaten like this
  • 3:30 Vegetables and raw almonds
  • 5:30 or 6 (meetings will restart at 7:00 pm)  Dinner Out:  I have scoped out a Mediterranean place with great salads, hummus, Baba ghanoush, and rice filled grape-leaves as well as a Mexican place with beans, guacamole, and salads… however my colleagues are not vegan so if all else fails I can always get a salad and add hummus or nuts from my purse

Saturday Phase 3 Day:

  • almost identical to Friday except Breakfast in the hotel room at 6:30 and snack at the meetings at 9:30 due to the day’s busier schedule (This time there is no other choice, even if my roomies are still asleep! )

Sunday Phase 3 Day:

  • 8:30 in Hotel room: oatmeal, blueberries, walnuts, and jicama with lemon
  • 11:30 at airport: Vegetable sticks and raw almonds (hopefully the vegetables will still be ok)
  • 3:30-4:30 (another time change…) at airport: Aseptic Hummus and olives (nuts if needed), vegetable sticks, and pre-made green salad from airport vendor if available (with my own packed dressing of vinegar & Bragg’s), and a grapefruit eaten like this
  • 6:15 on plane: Vegetable sticks, raw almonds
  • 8:00 Home Microwaved sweet potato with almond butter and microwaved frozen veggies

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

