Well, I think my body has adjusted…. I started out with a flip-flop, having my 1 cup of fruit first with plans to have breakfast a little later and what do you know, I’m Hungry today! By 8:00 I was starting to count the minutes until breakfast.  In recent years I’ve learned that I LIKE to be hungry at meal times; the food always tastes so much better.  I don’t want to be miserably starving, but a whetted appetite is a lovely thing.

Am I doing this plan to feel hungry again? Is it to lose the 25 pounds I’ve gained this year? Is it to break my addiction to baguettes and vegan cookies? Maybe a little of all those things as well as something more.  One of the things I love to do when I have free-time is to read.  Fiction, nonfiction, romance, history, survival stories… all kinds of books.  Cookbooks and nutrition texts are especially interesting to me and now and then  when I need perspective and motivation I like to read memoirs about people trying to lose weight.  Usually this type of book is about people who lose a LOT of weight… hundreds of pounds.  Reading about their success gives me a thrill; I cheer they on as they conquer in the battle against food.  I search out the “gems” of wisdom that they can offer after a hard-won struggle.  In the last few weeks I’ve read several of this genre and a stack more sits waiting on me.  It isn’t the actual method they follow that fascinates me; some start with Weight Watchers while others try Atkins.  It’s the journey and the inner change that I enjoy.  I guess I always hope that some day maybe that will be me. Just a bit more than a year ago I was a fine weight, had attractive clothes, felt healthy, but even so I still felt under the power of food.  I recognize that The Fast Metabolism plan I’m trying now is not going to help me with that inner turmoil, but maybe when I feel more in control again, maybe then I can at least be closer to being at peace with food.

 

5:30 started with hot herb tea

6:00 1 cup cantaloupe cubes

9:00 1/2 cup dry oats (made into oatmeal) with blueberries and a spice mix (cinnamon, allspice, coriander, ginger, nutmeg)

11:45 Tabbouleh (1 cup quinoa + 1/2 cup kidney beans + 1 cup diced cucumber + 1 Roma tomato + 2/3 cup chopped parsley + a few pieces of pickled cauliflower ,pickled carrot, and pepperocini, lemon juice, & garlic ) and 1 cup cantaloupe melon

4:15 (30 min late… school ran over and then took 15 minutes to make) mango sorbet (just 1 cup of frozen mango and squeeze of lime juice)

6:00 seltzer with lemon

7:00 1 cup brown rice, 1/2 cup chick peas, 2 cups curried vegetables (spinach, cauliflower, fire roasted tomatoes, and red curry paste)

 

Leave a Reply

