Well… 1 lb lost.  It is not much, but it is progress.  I’ve read other blogs where the losses are much bigger, but I know I can’t compare myself to anyone else (even though I want to).  I started out in a different place.  My age, my hormonal balance, the fact that I had already given up caffeine before starting, my previous dietary habits, and the fact that I’m following the vegan option all contribute to my outcome.  Many of those factors are things I have no control over.  What I do have control of are how I follow the plan this week, today, right now…

I went back and looked at what is said about timing on The Fast Metabolism Diet.

  •  Timing Thought #1 “You start counting the time interval to your next meal/snack as you start eating”.
  • Timing Thought #2“The key is making sure you eat every 3 to 4 hours.”
  •  Timing Thought #3 “If you can’t have breakfast thirty minutes after waking, then I suggest you do a flip-flop of your meals and have a snack first and then have breakfast later.”

There is really not much new information… I can flip-flop meals and I need to eat every 3-4 hours until bedtime. I will just have to work harder on the logistics.

I also  went back and looked at what The Fast Metabolism Diet said about exercise and fullness :

  • Exercise Thought #1 “For beginners, you can have 30-45 minutes of exercise for phases. For intermediate, you can have 45 minutes to 75 minutes exercise. If you are busy, you can split the exercise duration into 15 minute session. Ex take a 15 minute walk in the morning and jog in the afternoon.”
  • Exercise Thought #2    “It is recommended to have your workout limit into 3 times per week, 1 day each phase. But if you’re really a workout enthusiast, you can have your exercise 4-5 times a week. Just be sure that you are doing phase specific exercise. That is 2 days cardio (Phase 1), 2 day weight lifting (Phase 2) and 3 days yoga (Phase 3)”.

There are a few new ideas for me here… I can split the exercise up into smaller chunks which could help with my morning schedule; I can choose to exercise more than just once each phase; and if I am intermediate level my exercise should actually be 45-75 minutes thus longer than what I thought. I’m not sure what level of fitness actually classifies as “intermediate” though… I take brisk walks and bike rides regularly but am not particularly advanced.

  •  Fullness Thought #1 : “If your appetite isn’t there, you may want to look at your exercise program to ensure you are using your structure enough to require the fuel.”
  • Fullness Thought #2  “Food preparation can ease your metabolic efforts. Cooking, crocking and pureeing your foods can assist with digestion. The goal is to make digestion effortless so that your body doesn’t feel burdened digesting. If you’ve eaten the original portions size and you feel too full, adjustments may be temporarily needed. First, try adding more herbs and spices, pureeing your veggies or chewing your food 2x the typical amount.”
  • Fullness Thought #3 “If you feel try these tips and still feel too full, lower the portion in each food group. So a little less grain, protein, and fruit, but never less veggies! You’ll probably never hear me say less veggies…Shrink the portions just enough so that you feel full but are also able to conceive of the next meal coming down the pipeline.”

It looks like in terms of fullness, the exercise is my first strategy, so maybe by increasing the time and number of days (and mapbe even intensity) I will create more hunger.  If not, I will pay attention to the bulk of the actual foods in terms of preparation. I also thought about the water intake… I will try to be aware of not “filling up” on water too near a meal/snack time.  If still needed, I will tweak the portions.

Based on my  efforts to work hard at staying on schedule and my research this morning  I did have a few improvements today.

  1. I did better at keeping my meals/snacks at intervals of 3-4 hours.
  2. Watching the timing of my water intake was very helpful in terms of fullness.
  3. I didn’t accomplish extra exercise today but did try to keep up a good pace.
  4. I did get pretty full at lunch… which came to a total of 4 1/2 cups of food per the designed plan (1 cup grain + 1/2 cup beans + 2 cups vegetables + 1 cup fruit) but by snack time I was ready.

5:00 Awake… made a cup of hot herb tea to sip slowly and set up breakfast

5:40 Ate 1 cup blueberries with 1/2 cup dry oats (= 1 cup cooked oatmeal); then started water consumption

8:40 Ate 1 fresh orange and more herb tea

11:45 Tabbouleh (1 cup quinoa + 1/2 cup kidney beans + 1 cup diced cucumber + 1 roma tomato + 2/3 cup chopped parsley + a few pices of pickled cauliflower ,pickled carrot, and pepperocini, lemon juice, & garlic ) and 1 cup cantaloupe melon= 4 1/2 cups of food!!!!!

3:45 My favorite Chocolate Cherry Sorbet (just cherries and cocoa powder blended up) (would have been better at 3:30 to allow 30 minutes before exercise)

4:00 Took 3.5 mile Bike Ride ( 7 mph + due to wind intensity was definitely higher than usual)

6:00 seltzer with lemon

6:30 Brown Rice Pasta (56 grams dry), with 2/3 cup tomato sauce/diced tomato/herb sauce, 1/2 cup kidney beans, 1 1/3  cup steamed zucchini, sprinkle of nutritional yeast and red pepper flakes

8:00 (Water quota already met) Extra herb tea before bed

 

 

One thought on “Cycle 2, Minimal Loss, and THE Schedule

Leave a Reply

