I woke thirsty again this morning but well rested. (I’ve had no problem meeting the water requirements and some days, like today, even exceed it.)  I also felt a bit nervous about starting Phase 2.  When I read about other people’s experiences following The Fast Metabolism Diet they often spoke of Phase 2 as the most challenging part; additionally the vegan version seems even more limiting.  Even so, I’m ready to give it a go.  I often start my day with a spiritual quote and the one I got for today was perfect: “Whatever you are going through today is training for tomorrow. You need today to reach tomorrow”. —Harold Klemp The Language of Soul. I decided to look at today as an opportunity to learn more about my strengths, a chance to embrace simplicity, a time to move out of my comfort zone. Whatever I learn today will help me in the next step on my journey to a better diet.

The plan outlines here that, “Phase 2 will be the most challenging part [for] a vegetarian…A special rule exemption applies to all the vegans. You can break the no-soy rule to replace meat as your animal-protein”. I’m allowed tofu, tempeh, and edamame.  While I like soy beans and tempeh, I am not so fond of tofu; it’s a texture issue for me… can’t stand that egg-y spongy feeling.  However, like I stated yesterday, I really want to push myself to follow the plan. This is my chance to develop new patterns and re-discover the way of eating that used to work so well for me.  So, I embraced the idea of using tofu. Last night I made a tofu pudding to use as snacks for these 2 days.  I grabbed one from the fridge thinking, “Let’s get this over with”. The first bite was strongly soy flavored… but after a few more bites, I realized it wasn’t so bad. I can do this!

Another reason I wasn’t excited about Phase 2 is the exercise requirement which is focused on lifting heavy weights in low reps. I have done some weights before, but not much…I tend to prefer either aerobic activities like fast walks and biking or slow strengthening like yoga.  Well, I gave it my best try. I put on a good playlist and did all that I could remember.  Afterwards I looked at some exercises online to add to tomorrow’s routine.

While the tofu pudding and weight lifting were not the horrors I anticipated, the day still had its difficulties.  I found myself slightly hungry and thinking about food more often.  I had made plenty of the Kale Soup knowing that I might want extra snacks, but finding time to stop for soup wasn’t easy. I finally managed a cup in the afternoon and noted that it was the first of the “free vegetable” extra snacks allowed by the program that I have taken advantage of. One more day of Phase 2 to go.

5:00 am started on water, followed by hot tea

5:45 (15 min late for snack) Tofu Pudding (4 oz of silken tofu + 1 Tbs. cocoa + 1 tsp sweetener) *note here is where Pomroy talks about sweeteners and I also like Dr. Greger’s research

8:30 (Tummy definitely rumbling… hungry!)  2 cups of Soup: 1/2 cup edamame, 1/2 cup frozen cut green beans, 1/3 cup pepper & onions left from last night, 1 1/2 cups homemade veggie stock with kale ribbons, and 1 spoonful of homemade chipotle sauce

11:45 4 oz tempeh sliced into “sticks” then browned in a dry skillet /served with mustard and 2 cups of red cabbage cooked with 1/2 an onion, 1 Tbs. Balsamic, and sprinkle of nutmeg

2:20 Very hungry!  1 1/2 cups of the Kale Broth (no extra edamame or green beans) and 1 spoonful of homemade chipotle sauce

4:00 Tofu Pudding

5:30 Seltzer with lemon

6:30 “Stir Fry” (actually roasted in a bit of vegetable broth) Fresh cabbage, peppers, and asparagus and 1/2 cup edamame; sauce made of lemon juice, Bragg’s Amino Acid, and wasabi

8:30 1 cup leftover cabbage and peppers with Bragg’s Amino Acid

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

