I woke feeling rested and surprisingly thirsty! That was hard to believe after all that water; The Fast Metabolism Diet suggests drinking half your body weight in water each day.Within 30 minutes I had downed 16 ounces, but of course that meant I felt full and 30 minutes after waking is when I’m supposed to eat. I’ll be glad when my body adjusts to the timing of the morning routine.

When I had herb tea this morning ( Roast-a-Roma) I really wanted a splash of almond milk but Phase 1 is just rice milk so I skipped it.  While I don’t think a tablespoon of almond milk would really make that much difference, I do think following the plan as designed is important in terms of getting into a healthier mindset.  The little things add up.

I had planned to go for a walk this morning, but discovered it was raining. As only one day of aerobics is required out of the 2 days of Phase 1, I chose not to worry about it.  This reduced exercise is new to me too and feels counter-intuitive to losing weight.

After my lunch today I was stuffed and unable to eat the strawberries that I had planned to count as the fruit.  I am used to adding LOTS of vegetables to my meals because I usually don’t have 1 cup of starch and 1/2 cup of beans. Since the vegetables are so filling, I need to readjust the amount of vegetables. Volume-wise my stomach just wouldn’t hold that much.  I felt bad about not eating according to the plan, but just physically couldn’t do it.

This first “Phase 1” was not too hard.  The best part of both days were the fruit sorbets; I had forgotten how much I enjoy them.  A few dishes were different than my normal like blueberries in my oats rather than a banana, but otherwise the foods were the same or similar to what I normally choose. It felt good to let go of some of the less healthy foods that I’ve been overindulging in this year like breads and sweets.  I also certainly drank more water than usual.  My motivation to stay on track is pretty good right now; this first week will feel novel and that helps.

 

 

5:00 started with water

5:30 1 fresh orange

6:15 herb tea

8:30 (tummy grumbling) 1/2 cup dry oats turned into oatmeal with 1 cup thawed frozen blueberries and spice ( I used a mix with allspice, cinnamon, coriander, ginger, & nutmeg)

11:45 1/2 cup navy beans, 1 cup Brown Rice/Wild Rice Mix with Broccoli and Carrots (left from yesterday) and 2/3 cup cauliflower and 2/3 cup Broccoli seasoned with sprinkle of Nutritional yeast, hot sauce, and garlic powder (skipped my 1 cup strawberries since too full)

4:45 Late for snack by a whole hour… still not hungry but not completely stuffed either so had mango sorbet (made from 1 cup frozen mango, squeeze of lime juice, and splash of water) Tart, cold, and yummy.

6:00 Seltzer with lemon

6:30  Brown Rice Pasta (56 grams uncooked), 1 cup zuchini, 1/2 cup chopped parsley, 1/2 cup diced tomatoes (canned), 1/3 cup cooked bellpepper and onions, 1/2 cup kidney beans, garlic powder, nutritional yeast, red pepper flakes (felt over-full when finished)

8:00 Hot Tea (Sleepy Time) and a good book in bed

Leave a Reply

